Harmony Flex: Social Studies 8 (HI)


A Harmony Flex course offers parents and students flexibility in selecting course learning materials and activities based on a student’s learning style. Parents support students in working through individualized units of studies that focus on each of the grade-level standards listed below. Students then demonstrate competency by completing and submitting a Flex checkpoint worksheet for each unit.

  • Parents will have access to educational resources which include curriculum, the Harmony Resource Library and the Flex Curriculum Resource Directory. The directory will  supplement their selected course curriculum and to assist in planning and teaching each unit.  The Curriculum Resource Directory will include links to online lesson materials that can be used as part of a unit study related to each unit’s checkpoint worksheet.

Course Requirements

  • Students in grades K-8 complete 9 units and the correlating checkpoint worksheets each semester, submitting one worksheet every two weeks.  Parents and students are able to determine the sequence of the units of study in order to match their selected curriculum, meet individual needs, and customize their learning experience.
  • The submission of checkpoint worksheets demonstrates attendance in the course.  Because our partner schools expect a paced format, students submit work every two weeks.  Students who do not submit worksheets as outlined run the risk of falling behind and being considered truant.
  • Checkpoint worksheets are submitted online, generally as a pdf or jpeg file. Parents must have access to a scanner and a computer.  If a scanner is not available, a scanner app for a smartphone can usually be used.

Units of Study

Unit 1: Articles of Confederation

Unit 2: Constitutional Convention

Unit 3: Constitution

Unit 4: Louisiana Purchase

Unit 5: Monroe Doctrine

Unit 6: The Jackson Era

Unit 7: Inventions

Unit 8: Social Reforms

Unit 9: Mexican War

Unit 10: Sectional Differences

Unit 11: Events Leading to Civil War

Unit 12: States’ Rights

Unit 13: Civil War, Part 1

Unit 14: Civil War, Part 2

Unit 15: Reconstruction

Unit 16: Westward Expansion

Unit 17: Responsibilities of Citizens

Unit 18: Production and Consumption


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Harmony Flex: Social Studies 8 (HI)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *